Thursday, June 30, 2022

From Shore to Shore by Tabitha Bouldin

 

From Shore to Shore

About the Book

Book: From Shore to Shore

Author: Tabitha Bouldin

Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance

Release date: May 31, 2022

Sparrow-BOULDIN-From-Shore-to-Shore-663x1024Can one captain show her the deep love of the ultimate Captain without falling in love himself?

Bree Jamison comes to Sparrow Island for one reason: to study coral reefs. She’s not interested in happily-ever-after and certainly won’t allow her handsome boat captain to sway her into believing these islands are different from any others. But when she finds an old shipwreck and learns the history of pirates and treasure, Bree finds herself searching for something that always feels just out of reach.

Cooper Carmichael takes the job as boat captain for the enigmatic Bree to further his career. He never expected her to be so driven—or so painfully opposed to God.

All Cooper wants is his happy island life. He wants for nothing. In fact, he’s made it his mission to be content. In every aspect of his life. Bree throws a wrench in his plan as her presence pushes Cooper to want for things he deems unnecessary.

A man striving for contentment. A woman who believes God is picking on her.

It takes one to show the other that no matter which shore you find yourself on, God got there first.

Read the next Sparrow Island novel in the Independence Islands Series featuring five islands, six authors, and a boatload of happily-ever-afters.

The Independence Islands Series: beach reads aren’t just for summer anymore.

 My Thoughts:

I still love the island series!  It is sad how much we let our pasts mess with our present and future.  The author did a great job with showing this in story.  And God 

 I liked Cooper and Bree.  They were really good characters and I liked the way the author made them face things they didn’t want to and were likely wrong about.  Very well written story that I completely enjoyed.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Tabitha-Bouldin-600x574Tabitha Bouldin is a student at Southern New Hampshire University, where she is currently pursuing her Bachelor’s in Creative Writing. As a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), she works with critique groups and provides endorsements for other authors. Tabitha’s genre of choice is Contemporary Christian Romance which she describes as: Adventure with heart. Tabitha spent ten years working as a Medical Assistant before God opened the door which allowed her to become a stay-at-home-homeschooling-mom and author.

 

More from Tabitha

Writing in the Independence Islands series has been a true blessing, and From Shore to Shore is no different, except that these characters brought out feelings that I never expected.

Most of the time, when I go into a story, I know a bit of what’s going to happen. I already understand the characters’ backstory and what has driven them to this point in there life where I’ve picked up their tale and begun to weave it into a book.

Bree decided she wanted to go another route.

Cooper didn’t want to talk to me for half the book.

Christian walked onto the page and tried to take over because he didn’t want to wait for his turn in book five.

These characters, I tell you what, they’re a demanding bunch.

Finally, though, finally they settled in and told me their story.

You might remember Cooper, he’s Mel’s brother and he showed up in book one, Mishaps off the Mainland. Cooper is a delightful yet careful captain who delights in the open ocean and loves the islands.

Bree is a tangled mess of consternation. She scorns love and believes it to be a trap. Even God’s love is suspect in Bree’s eyes.

These two are imperfectly suited for each other, but God has a plan to help them both, and He helped me through every page of From Shore to Shore, a story that shows no matter how far you run, no matter what shore you find yourself on, God got there first.

Blog Stops

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 23

Christina’s Corner, June 23

lakesidelivingsite, June 24

An Author’s Take, June 25

Texas Book-aholic, June 25

Inklings and notions, June 26

For Him and My Family, June 27

Sylvan Musings, June 27

deb’s Book Review, June 28

Aryn the Libraryan, June 29

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 29

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 30

Life, Love, Writing, July 1

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, July 1

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, July 2

Blossoms and Blessings, July 3

Miriam Jacob, July 3

She Lives To Read, July 4

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 5

Blogging With Carol, July 5

Simple Harvest Reads, July 6 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tabitha is giving away the grand prize package a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1f45b/from-shore-to-shore-celebration-tour-giveaway

Wednesday, June 29, 2022

Legacy of Love by Renae Braumbaugh Green

 

About the Book

Book: Legacy of Love

Author: Renae Brumbaugh Green

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: June 14, 2022

She’s struggled her entire life to overcome her parentage.

Skye Stratton is nearly perfect. Or at least, she tries to be. She carries the Stratton name, but everyone knows her true half-breed heritage. When she completes her education and is hired as a teacher at the local school, she hopes to finally find acceptance in the town. But when most of her class elects to stay home rather than be taught by an Indian, she knows things will never change.

Alan McNaughten went to Washington, D.C. to make a difference. Instead, he finds himself entrenched in political lies, manipulation, and deceit. When he finds a way to return home to Texas as an Indian Agent, he leaps at the chance. Even if he must hurt an innocent woman to secure his position.

But when the lovely Miss Stratton agrees to teach for the Alabama-Coushatta Reservation, Alan knows he’s gone too far. He’ll do anything to protect her from further heartache and harm. But what will happen when she learns the truth about her position…and the truth about him?

My Thoughts:

Such a good read.  Being perfect is impossible and tying causes so much stress and anxiety that it isn’t funny.  Skye is a ‘half breed’ and I adored her.  

The writer does a good job with the characters.  Some of them I wanted to hug and others smack.  I liked how Skye and Alan.   Their story was truly a joy to read.

5/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine. 

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Renae BrumbaughGreen is an ECPA Bestselling Author, award-winning humor columnist, and wannabe superhero. She lives in Texas with her handsome, country-boy husband, four nearly-perfect children and one nearly-perfect son-in-law, and far too many animals. When she’s not writing, Renae teaches online classes and tries to be rugged without chipping her nail polish.

 

More from Renae

Enough

All my life, since I can remember, I’ve been told I’m part Native American. My great-great grandmother on my mother’s side, they said, was full-blooded Comanche. So even though I am blonde and fair (I have glow-in-the-dark skin) I believed them. I told people, and laughed at their sideways looks. I was proud of my heritage.

Then I took one of those Ancestry DNA tests. Nope. Not one drop of Native American in me. According to the test, I’m English, Scottish, Irish, and Swedish. And yes, I am the biological child of my father (very blonde and fair) and my mother (brunette, with high cheekbones). So I guess it’s just the way the genetic dominoes fell. When I got my mom’s half, I apparently didn’t get the Native American part.

I’m not sure how the science of DNA works, but I will tell you I feel extremely connected to Skye, the heroine of Legacy of Love. She’s a perfectionist. I’m a perfectionist. She thinks she has to perform to be accepted. I do, too. Though she’s always been loved, she struggles to fit in, to feel like she’s really a part of things. Ditto.

Skye’s journey is both difficult and beautiful. It helps that there’s a dreamy beaux (or three!) along the way. But in all the hardship and heartache, she finds herself. And she finds that she’s enough, exactly as she is. Most importantly, she finds a relationship with the One who created her and loved her before time began.

I hope you enjoy Skye’s journey in book two of The Stratton Legacy series. If you haven’t read book one, I encourage you to do so—you’ll meet Skye as a child. More than anything, I hope you’ll glean some beautiful truths along the way.

You are precious.

You are loved.

You are enough.

Blog Stops

Guild Master, June 20 (Author Interview)

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 20

Texas Book-aholic, June 21

lakesidelivingsite, June 22

Lighthouse Academy, June 23 (Guest Review from Marilyn Ridgway)

Betti Mace, June 24

Inklings and notions, June 25

For Him and My Family, June 26

deb’s Book Review, June 27

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 28

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 29

Connie’s History Classroom, June 30

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, July 1

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 2

Pause for Tales, July 3

Miriam Jacob, July 3

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Renae is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1eff8/legacy-of-love-celebration-tour-giveaway

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

The Fragrance of Violets by Susan K. Beatty

 

Fragrance of Violets

About the Book

Book: The Fragrance of Violets

Author: Susan K. Beatty

Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction

Release date: May 17, 2022

The-Fragrance-of-Violets1-660x1024Life crushes us with its weight sometimes.

Fiona’s father abandoned her when she was twelve. So when she learns that he’s the groom’s father in the wedding she’s been assigned to manage, all the old hurts resurface. Maybe if he’d just explain himself and ask forgiveness, she’d get over the pain he left her with—pain she obviously hadn’t left behind after all.

When Nason discovered he wasn’t Fiona’s biological father, and when her mother tried to sabotage his marriage, he felt like he had no other option but to leave and never look back. Running into her again—awkward to say the least. And he can’t understand why she feels betrayed—why she expects him to seek forgiveness.

As if life weren’t complicated enough, Fiona meets Trevor, which sparks a possible romance. New faith, an overdose, and revelations combine with Trevor’s discipleship and shows her how forgiveness really works.

What will it take for Nason to swallow his pride and see how his actions hurt an innocent child?

The Fragrance of Violets—as Mark Twain once said, “Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it.”

My Thoughts:

Wow this was a perfectly timed book to read.  Forgiveness.  It’s easy to talk about but sometimes not so easy to actually do.

I liked the characters and the realistic situation the author has them in.  Fiona and Trevor are really well suited but each have issues to deal with.   I enjoyed the story and am glad to have read it.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.  

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Susan-K-Beatty-600x600Who says you can’t begin a new career after middle age? Certainly not Susan K. Beatty. She is passionate about writing about finding courage through faith and grit, particularly through the trials of breast cancer and other life trials. Her daughter is a metastatic breast cancer “thriver” and has been an inspiration for her writing. Susan’s first novel, Faces of Courage, debuted May 2021, as part of the Faces of Courage series, including several novelettes. She is also the author of An Introduction to Home Education (AKA California Homeschool Manual). Susan is a professional writer/journalist and is active in the writer community. She is proof you can begin a fiction writing career at any age.

 

More from Susan

The Fragrance of Violets’ story has yearned to be told for many years nowbefore I created my tagline, Courage: The Intersection of faith and grit. But it fits perfectly. A similar situation existed a long time ago in the life of an acquaintance. I thought all parties handled it badly, and I longed to make it right. Of course, being an outsider, the only way I could make it right was by creating a novel.

Fiona and Nason, the main characters, are total figments of my imagination, and the details of the story are substantially different. But the core, abandonment, the need to ask for and grant forgiveness, and the courage to meet them, is real and universal.

I desired to show that even when we think we’ve done nothing wrong, we need to seek the Lord and ask Him to reveal where we need to own up to our mistakes and seek forgiveness. Also, I wanted to show that although it is difficult to forgive when we’ve been horribly wronged (and how horrible to have the person you thought of as your father abandon you and with no apparent explanation or remorse), it’s possible with courage. The courage that comes from faith and action.

My prayer is that Fiona and Nason (despite his past) will inspire readers to find their own courage through whatever situations in which they find themselves.

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, June 21

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, June 22 (Author Interview)

Texas Book-aholic, June 23

Inklings and notions, June 24

A Baker’s Perspective, June 25 (Author Interview)

For Him and My Family, June 25

deb’s Book Review, June 26

Spoken from the Heart, June 27 (Author Interview)

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 28

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, June 29

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 30

Through the Fire Blogs, July 1 (Author Interview)

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, July 2

Locks, Hooks and Books, July 3

Splashes of Joy, July 4 (Author Interview)

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 4

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Susan is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1eff9/the-fragrance-of-violets-celebration-tour-giveaway

Monday, June 27, 2022

Hair Calamities and Hot Cash by Gail Pallotta

 

About the Book

Book: Hair Calamities and Hot Cash

Author: Gail Pallotta

Genre: Christian Fiction

Release date: 2018

What happens when a New York stockbroker crashes his car into Eve Castleberry’s North Carolina beauty shop … on the same day the young widow’s defective hair products are causing wild hairdos? Soon, Eve finds herself helping the handsome stranger hunt the thieves who stole his clients cash…and hot on the trail of two of the FBI’s most-wanted criminals!

Romance blossoms amid danger, suspense and Eve’s hair-brained plan to get back the money.

 My Thoughts:

This was a cute story.  

3/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Award-winning author Gail Pallotta’s a wife, Mom, swimmer and bargain shopper who loves God, beach sunsets and getting together with friends and family. A 2013 Grace Awards finalist, she’s a Reader’s Favorite 2017 Book Award winner and a TopShelf 2020 Book Awards Finalist. She’s published six books, poems, short stories and several hundred articles. Some of her articles appear in anthologies while two are in museums.

 

More from Gail

Even mysterious events and robbery can’t stop the fun, laughs and romance that follow after New York stock broker Philip Wells crashes his car into Eve Castleberry’s beauty shop.

 

Hair Calamities and Hot Cash is a contemporary romance with mystery and comical scenes about a New Yorker and a lonely, young widow in the North Carolina Mountains who fall for each other amid a crisis, danger and suspense.

 

The story behind Hair Calamities and Hot Cash began many years ago in a small town at the foothills of the North Carolina Mountains, where my mother ran a beauty shop.

 

Her salon doubled as a meeting place where customers who knew each other discussed how to make the latest recipe, what to do about world affairs and everything in between, including family relations, births, deaths and weddings. Clients planned showers, graduation parties and get-togethers for new neighbors while hair flew.

 

Mostly townspeople showed up, and the spirit of the community overflowed. The residents had disagreements, but they didn’t abhor those who thought differently from them. They had close friends, acquaintances, people they tolerated and those they kept at a distance. As in most small environments, they gossiped and could be nosey. However, when someone grieved for a loved one, suffered from an illness or any other crisis, prayers went up and casseroles went out no matter whether the person was a best friend or someone held at a distance. They all were God’s children.

 

The walls of Mother’s beauty shop echoed the spirit of the community, and I wanted to bring it back.  I set the mystery, romance and shenanigans in the Western North Carolina Mountains. Many years ago, a friend my father knew in college came to visit us, and we drove him to the mountains. He said, “I’ve traveled the world over, and I’ve never seen a place any prettier than these hills.”  I wanted to share the awe-inspiring scenery. I believe we need those peaceful surroundings and the sense of community now more than when I wrote the book.

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, June 22

Book Looks by Lisa, June 22

For Him and My Family, June 23

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 24

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, June 25

Texas Book-aholic, June 26

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 27

Inklings and notions, June 28

deb’s Book Review, June 29

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 30

Jodie Wolfe – Stories Where Hope and Quirky Meet, July 1 (Author Interview)

Simple Harvest Reads, July 1 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Guild Master, July 2

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, July 3

A Baker’s Perspective, July 4 (Author Interview)

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 5

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Gail is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card and copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1f459/hair-calamities-and-hot-cash-celebration-tour-giveaway