Monday, November 29, 2021

Recorder by Cathy McCrumb

 

Recorder

About the Book

Book: Recorder

Author: Cathy McCrumb

Genre: Dystopian Science Fiction

Release date: November 8, 2021

Recorder-Hi-rez FINALThe Consortium is All. But Recorder Can No Longer Obey. 

Recorder has no family, no friends, and no name. Donated to the Consortium before birth, her sole purpose is to maintain and verify the records. A neural implant and drone ensure compliance, punishing for displays of bias.

Suddenly cut off from controlling technology, Recorder tastes what it means to be human. But if the Consortium discovers her feelings, everyone she knows will be in danger.

With no name, no resources, and only an infinitesimal possibility of escape, Recorder’s time is running out.  I’m ready for more.

 My Thoughts:

Oh wow!  This is such a good book.  It was unique and I liked that it wasn’t one of the books I would normally read.  The author did a great job of grabbing your attention keeping it through the entire book.

The characters were great and the world building was awesome.  I can’t believe this is a debut novel because the writing was that good.

4/5

Thank  you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Cathy HinkleCathy McCrumb graduated from Biola University with a degree in English Literature and a love for stories. She and her husband, whom she met while writing letters to soldiers, have five children and currently live within the shadow of the Rocky Mountains. While writing is one of her favorite things to do, she also enjoys reading, long hikes and long naps, gluten-free brownies and raspberries, and crocheting while watching science fiction movies with friends and family.

 

More from Cathy

When I was about three, my first imaginary friend, Sally from Clap-Hands-Land, threw a man’s hat in the air. At the time, I found her action uproariously funny, though I no longer remember why. As I grew older, speculative fiction—almost any variety of fantasy or science fiction—became my favorite stories to tell and read.

Once I had children, however, all I managed were practical lists on scraps of paper. I shoved down that desire to create until after my youngest was born, when a friend challenged me to write again. That first short story began a landslide of words and ideas about grace, worth, and the sometimes-bittersweet reality of daily life. Soon afterward, a story was born from a vivid dream set on a stark moonscape. As I wrote it down, the Recorder herself sprang into being, and Recorder became inextricably bound to her point of view.

For me, stories are fundamentally about possibilities. The tension between catastrophe and eucatastrophe plays out with relative safety on the page. I believe that when ideas and themes intersect, however, stories can reach deep within authors and readers. Indeed, if they do not touch the author, they are unlikely to impact anyone else. When failure, grief, and evil are contrasted with faith, hope, and love, the narratives inspire deeper connections with our own emotions, others, and God. Tales of light and dark challenge us with the opportunity to think through truths and lies without leaving home.

And yet, transformation itself isn’t safe, and therefore fiction can’t be, either. The risks inherent in change open the possibilities of growth and failure. Stories provide an exploration of becoming. They can open a divide through which we can glimpse something greater or worse than our own worlds. Fiction allows us a place where we can practice and triumph.

And maybe, perhaps, even throw our hats into the air.

Blog Stops

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 20

Texas Book-aholic, November 21

Mary Hake, November 21

Inklings and notions, November 22

Library Lady’s Kid Lit, November 23

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 23

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, November 24

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 24

Blogging With Carol, November 25

Labor Not in Vain, November 26

For Him and My Family, November 26

deb’s Book Review, November 27

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 28

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 29

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, November 30

Through the fire blogs, November 30

The Meanderings of a Bookworm, December 1

Wishful Endings, December 2

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, December 3

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Cathy is giving away the grand prize of a personalized, signed hardcover copy!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/137ec/recorder-celebration-tour-giveaway


Sunday, November 28, 2021

The Weather Girls: Windy by

 

the weather girls windy

About the Book

Book: The Weather Girls: Windy

Author: Jennifer Lynn Cary

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: November 9, 2021

TheWeatherGirls_Windy couv3She grew up without a mother…

…but her little one wouldn’t.

Can the cardinal help her find true love?

Her family thinks Windy is a flighty accident waiting to happen. But with more at stake than herself, she needs to put her creativity to the test and prove them wrong.

Is there such thing as too much independence?

Kris is a private man of few words, but somehow Windy broke through his defenses. He’d like to be more than a friend, but that would mean revealing his secret.

Will he trust Windy with what he’s kept hidden?

And if he does, will she view him as someone worth building a life with?

Only the cardinal can say for sure.

Return to 1970 Indiana with Windy, the third book in The Weather Girls series for some peace, love, and Christian family values.

You will love Windy, the final book in The Weather Girls trilogy, because everyone knows the sweetest love is the one we wait for.

My Thoughts:

I’ve enjoyed all of the books in this series and was ready for this one.  I’ve grown to love the characters and am sad to see the series ending. Windy is a good character and differs from her sisters in lots of ways.

I believe you need to read the books in order to understand everything going on.  Kris is a good guy and I was rooting for he and Windy through the story.  I don’t usually think of the 70s as historical but they are.  The author did a great job transporting us there and giving us an enjoyable story.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine. 

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Choice 4Historical Christian romance author Jennifer Lynn Cary likes to say you can take the girl out of Indiana, but you can’t take the Hoosier out of the girl. Now transplanted to the Arizona desert, this direct descendant of Davy Crockett and her husband of forty years enjoy time with family where she shares tales of her small town heritage and family legacies with their grandchildren. She is the author of The Crockett Chroniclesseries and The Relentless series as well as the stand-alone novella Tales of the Hob Nob Annex CafĂ© and her recent split-time novel The Traveling Prayer Shawl.

 

More from Jennifer

Do you remember The Mod Squad? I loved that 1960s TV show and thought Peggy Lipton’s character, Julie Barnes, was the coolest.

A few years ago my sister sent me a photo. She’d just gotten her hair done at a Blow Bar for the first time. With thick, naturally wavy hair, she was shocked at the transformation and had to share. “Jenny, it’s not just straight, it’s Peggy Lipton straight!” I didn’t need to question the reference. I knew exactly what she meant even before checking out the photo link. Peggy Lipton’s hair was board straight. But more than that, she had that pale blonde look with dark brows and lashes. In color draping terms, she’d be classified as a Winter.

Peggy Lipton is who came to mind as I imagined Windy June Day, the youngest of the Day sisters. I also saw her as extremely artistic and brave, but she needed her own book to fully tell her story. In her sisters’ books, you get an idea of her personality but with Windy, now you get to know what went on in her head—her fears, her spiritual journey, her essence. You also get to better understand her fierce nature and amazing potential.

I really loved writing all three of these stories, but there was something personal about Windy’s. I also was an unwed mother and had to consider my daughter before I could think about any relationship. I also learned the freedom of forgiveness and turning my past, my future, my daughter all over to the One who could bring beauty from ashes.

Windy looks at a lot of things that we today have chosen to forget or have learned to look at differently. It’s funny to think that not that long ago, those things were the normal, everyday life. I hope Windy brings back fun memories or gets you to talk to someone who might remember those days.

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, November 19

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, November 20

Vicky Sluiter, November 20

Texas Book-aholic, November 21

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 22

Inklings and notions, November 23

For Him and My Family, November 24

Blogging With Carol, November 25

deb’s Book Review, November 26

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 27

Pause for Tales, November 27

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 28

Connie’s History Classroom, November 29

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, November 30

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, December 1

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, December 2

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Jennifer is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon card with a signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/137eb/the-weather-girls-windy-celebration-tour-giveaway

Saturday, November 27, 2021

Behind Love’s Wall by Carrie Fancett Pagels

 

Behind Love's Wall

About the Book

Book: Behind Love’s Wall

Author: Carrie Fancett Pagels

Genre: FICTION/ Christian/Romance

Release date: November 1, 2021

9781636090696 (2)Two successful women, a hundred-and-twenty-years apart, build walls to protect their hearts. Modern-day Willa, a successful interior decorator, is chosen to consult for the Grand Hotel’s possible redesign. She discovers a journal detailing the struggles of a young woman, Lily—which reveals dark secrets. The renowned singer wasn’t who she pretended to be. As Willa reaches out to Lily’s descendant, a charismatic and prominent landscape artist, she lets down her guard. Should she share the journal with him, or once again erect a wall as she struggles to redesign both the Grand and her life?

 My Thoughts:

This was a good one.  Dual time line makes for an intriguing process as the story develops.  I think the auntie did a great job tying the two together and linking them like she did.

The character were well done.  My attention was kept through the entire book.  I loved watching the story unfold.  Really a good read that I highly recommend.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

CarrieFancettPagelsECPA-bestselling author Carrie Fancett Pagels, Ph.D., is the award-winning author of over a dozen Christian historical romances. Twenty-five years as a psychologist didn’t “cure” her overactive imagination! A self-professed “history geek,” she resides with her family in the Historic Triangle of Virginia but grew up as a “Yooper” in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. Carrie loves to read, bake, bead, and travel – but not all at the same time! You can connect with her at www.CarrieFancettPagels.com.

 

More from Carrie

Why I Wrote This Novel

 

I got a chance to write another novel set on Mackinac Island!!!

 

I’m the author of over twenty published stories. I have many books, both novel and novella length, set at the Straits of Mackinac including Maggie Award winner and Romantic Times Top Pick My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island. In the summer, I go up to the area and I’m blessed to sign books at the Island Bookstore—sometimes hundreds of books which is such an amazing thing I can’t tell you! Now that MHBoMI is out of print, Barbour has been helping by doing limited print runs for while I am up there.

 

My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island was originally part of a full series that I pitched but it didn’t get picked up for all three stories. MHBoMI got picked up as part of the My Heart Belongs series that Barbour put out a few years ago. The second book in my original Brides of Mackinac series was heroine Sadie’s story, which was published as a novella “His Anchor” in First Love Forevercollection.  So I had two of my book babies delivered out into the world and Lily’s story sat there for a while.

 

In the Covid summer of 2020, I arrived in my home state of Michigan and over dinner with a close friend I learned that the folks at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island were having legal trouble with their previous long-time designed Carlton Varney suing them. I’d been disappointed that the Mussers, who’d owned the Grand for generations, had sold the hotel but this new development really bugged me.  While I was in the Upper Peninsula, I finished an Indy book, Dogwood Plantation, which only figures since I often write my Michigan stories while I am in Virginia and vice versa! I knew the only other book I wanted to work on was to complete my Brides of Mackinac trilogy (not exactly since they aren’t all in one series!) with Lily’s story. I also had a manuscript about 70% done that was my very first contemporary Women’s Fiction novel. When my agent encouraged me to submit a Mackinac Island story set at the Grand Hotel to Barbour’s Doors to the Past series, I knew immediately that the only story for historical I wanted to write was Lily’s. That meant that I needed, for this dual-timeline series, a contemporary story. That wasn’t just a chance sharing at dinner—I believe the info about the lawsuit was meant to be passed on to me one of those God-incidences. My modern-day heroine then became an established resort designer who had a trunkful of issues just like Lily did.

 

Was I ever glad that I had finally written my first contemporary Women’s Fiction (Butterfly Cottage) because that skill set came in very handy in writing the modern-day 2020 story of Willa in Behind Love’s Wall! This was the most difficult novel to write that I have done so far as I write in character and going back and forth between the 1895 and 2020 timelines could be draining. I tried to write each character and setting on separate days but that couldn’t always be managed.

 

I pray that this story will touch readers’ hearts. I pray that someone, like the young waitress I meant on Mackinac Island who had been spiritually moved by My Heart Belongs on Mackinac Island(she read her grandmother’s copy after her grandma passed away!), will read this book and feel that connection to our Maker. That’s what Christian Fiction is all about!

Blog Stops

Life of Literature, November 18

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 18

The Meanderings of a Bookworm, November 19

Cats in the Cradle Blog, November 19

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, November 19

Inklings and notions, November 20

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, November 20

For Him and My Family, November 21

Mary Hake, November 21

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, November 22

Texas Book-aholic, November 22

For the Love of Literature, November 22

deb’s Book Review, November 23

Betti Mace, November 23

Genesis 5020, November 23

Older & Smarter?, November 24

Remembrancy, November 24

Blossoms and Blessings, November 25

Stephanie’s life of determination, November 25

Connect in Fiction, November 25

Rebecca Tews, November 26

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 26

Through the fire blogs, November 27

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 27

Pause for Tales, November 27

Bigreadersite, November 28

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 28

Tell Tale Book Reviews, November 28

Connie’s History Classroom, November 29

Bizwings Blog, November 29

Labor Not in Vain, November 29

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 30

To Everything There Is A Season, November 30

Jeanette’s Thoughts, December 1

Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen, December 1

Where Faith and Books Meet, December 1

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Carrie is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/137e9/behind-love-s-wall-celebration-tour-giveaway

Friday, November 26, 2021

God is Coming by Maggie Philpot

 

God is Coming

About the Book

Book: God Is Coming

Author: Maggie Philpot

Genre: Children’s books, Christian books

Release date: October 15, 2021

Image 8-3-21 at 1.19 PMIn a search for a book that presented the beauty and mystery of the advent season with elegance and simplicity meant to be enjoyed by the entire family, God Is Coming was born. This Advent Journey traces the story of God’s relentless pursuit of His children and all of the anticipation of the holiday season in simple, rhyme and meter. Children and adults alike will be touched by the reminders of the profound truths of the gospel and families will return to these stories and these iconic images year after year.

My Thoughts:

Completely enjoyed this book   


4/5

 Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Maggie PhilpotMaggie Philpot wrote her first children’s story when she was in middle school (a story about an egg named Eggbert) and she has been dreaming up stories ever since. She lives in Fort Worth with her spectacular husband (whom she calls Husband), her two precocious children, and a rather ridiculous dog, Tucker. She is passionate about anything and anyone who attempts to make beauty, order, and meaning in this crazy world. The simple act of writing is one way to do just that.

 

More from Maggie

In a search for a book that presented the beauty and mystery of the Advent season with elegance and simplicity, God Is Coming was born. This book traces the story of God’s pursuit of His children and all of the anticipation of the Christmas season in simple, rhyme and meter. This year available in a deluxe hardback edition with full-color illustrations, offering you the opportunity to bring home a truly heirloom-quality book to be a part of your holiday traditions!

Blog Stops

Lighthouse-Academy, November 17

Vicky Sluiter, November 17

Simple Harvest Reads, November 18 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Library Lady’s Kid Lit, November 19

Inklings and notions, November 19

Texas Book-aholic, November 20

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 21

deb’s Book Review, November 22

The Adventures of a Travelers Wife, November 23

For Him and My Family, November 23

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 24

Labor Not in Vain, November 25

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 26

Mary Hake, November 26

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, November 27

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, November 28

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 29

Maureen’s Musings, November 29

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 30

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Maggie is giving away the grand prize package of a copy of God Is Coming and a hand-crafted wooden advent spiral!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/13cf9/god-is-coming-celebration-tour-giveaway