Wednesday, July 6, 2022

Perfectly Placed by Liana George

 

About the Book

Book: Perfectly Placed

Author: Liana George

Genre: Contemporary Christian Women’s Fiction

Release date: July 5, 2022

Nicki’s tasked with making New Hope the perfect place for orphaned children. 

So why has everything gone wrong?

Six weeks after leaving China, Nicki Mayfield returns to complete two critical tasks: restore order at New Hope Orphanage and re-connect with the little girl who stole her heart. However, between a stubbornly stone walling supervisor, missing documents, and personal tragedy, Nicki faces challenges at every turn. Is she the best person to bring order – and longevity – to the place these children call home? Then, with the help of an unexpected ally, Nicki makes a life-altering decision that upends her well-planned life and the lives of those around her. Will she lose it all, or has she found the way to save what matters most?

 My Thoughts:

This book is the second in the series and I think it really should be read in order to understand different aspects.  I liked Nicki.  She was a really good character who absolutely adores a little girl and wants what is best for her.

I have to say that there was a lot about Chinese culture that I didn’t know or understand and this book was a good one to give me information (not it’s intent but I enjoyed that aspect of it).  Nicki has a lot going on and I mean it is just a lot!  The orphanage in and of itself but then her mom too.  I liked how the author handled that.  

4/5

Thank be you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Liana George is a sought-after speaker, blogger, and author. Before pursuing a career in writing, she was a professional organizer and is the former owner of By George Organizing Solutions in Houston. Her debut novel, Perfectly Arranged, Book One in The Hopeful Heart Series, was released in October 2021 from Scrivenings Press. When she’s not putting things in order or scribbling away, you can find her reading, traveling, or watching tennis.

 

More from Liana

Have you ever eaten at a Chinese restaurant and taken a fortune cookie with you when you left? Yeah, me too. For the longest time, I always associated these Pac-Man shaped treats with Chinese food and by extension, Chinese culture.

I was wrong.

 

The tsujiura senbei,” or “fortune cracker,” actually originated in Japan and was brought over to the United States sometime between the late 1800s and early 1900s by immigrants. Japanese bakers first began selling and making these crackers in California and Hawaii. With their unique taste and finger-sized slip of paper printed with a pithy fortune or aphorism, they quickly became a hit.

 

Today, the fascination with these cookies is still at an all-time high, but the ingredients have changed. Originally, they were made with miso and sesame flavoring but now they use butter and vanilla to give it that sweet taste you and I are so familiar with.

 

So, why am I telling you all this?

 

Because my novel, Perfectly Placed, book 2 in The Hopeful Heart Series, begins with the main character, Nicki Mayfield, breaking into a fortune cookie and discovering a proverb that will motivate her and move her to action. What was written on that tiny slip of paper? There’s only one way to find out. Grab a copy of Perfectly Placed – and a cookie or two – and start reading!

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, June 27

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 28

Texas Book-aholic, June 29

The Sacred Line, June 29

Inklings and notions, June 30

By the Book, July 1

Rebecca Tews, July 2

Splashes of Joy, July 2

For Him and My Family, July 3

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, July 4

deb’s Book Review, July 5

Pause for Tales, July 5

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, July 6

Locks, Hooks and Books, July 7

Spoken from the Heart, July 7

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 8

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, July 9

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, July 10 (Author Interview)

Mary Hake, July 10

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Liana is giving away the grand prize package of a travel kit which includes a signed copy of Perfectly Placed, a travel cube, a travel/passport wallet, luggage tag, travel journal, packing checklist and tips, and a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1f45d/perfectly-placed-celebration-tour-giveaway


Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Oddball Ornaments by Terry Overton

 

About the Book

Book: Oddball Ornaments

Author: Terry Overton

Genre: Middle Grade Christmas Story

Release date: November 16, 2021

The ornaments in the attic are excited. It’s almost Turkey Day, and they know when they start smelling turkey, they’re going to be pulled down out of the attic and hung on a tree for the humans to enjoy. After all, Box Day is all about admiring the ornaments, isn’t it? But when Grandma joins them for Turkey Day instead of Box Day and brings a bunch of new ornaments with her, the Oddball Ornaments know something isn’t right. Determined to find out the source of Grandma’s sadness and what Box Day is really about, Nutcracker sets out on a quest to climb to the top of the tree to ask Angel about the true meaning of Christmas and discovers the truth is much more wonderful than they could ever have imagined.

 My Thoughts:

This was a really cute book!  I enjoyed it and so did my 7 year old.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Terry Overton is a retired university professor of educational and school psychology. She has an Ed.D. in Special Education and a Ph.D. in Psychology. Her professional experience includes teaching public school, teaching at the university level, and being a college dean. She has two children and six grandchildren. Her writing and publication experiences include textbook and journal articles in the fields of special education and school psychology. She seeks to answer God’s call to share the good news and grow the church by writing Christian books and devotionals. Her book Both Sides of the Border is a Firebird Book Award winner in the categories of Cross-Genre, Socio-Political Fiction, and Women’s Fiction. Both Sides of the Border also won the American Writing Awards in the Multicultural Fiction category, Social Change category, and a finalist for the Women’s Fiction category. Her book, America of We the People was awarded the Firebird Book Award for Socio-Political and Political categories. She and her husband live in the southern tip of Texas where they enjoy semi-tropical weather and spending time with their friends and family.

 

More from Terry

Oddball Ornaments: The Story of Christmas was written one late fall while I looked at my own Christmas tree. I wondered, “If the ornaments could talk, what would they say? Would they even know why they were hung on the tree?” And that was how the book began. I played Christmas music and imagined a cast of characters like toys in Toy Story but ornaments and humans. It was such fun to write. I ran a few things by my regional experts (grand Angels) and they approved. It always means so much more when family are involved in my writing projects.

Not long after the book was out, the sequel was completed, and it will be released late summer 2022. “Oddball Ornaments: The Story of Forgiveness.”

I hope you have as much fun reading it as I did writing it!

Blog Stops

Texas Book-aholic, July 2

Inklings and notions, July 3

Lights in the Dark World, July 4

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, July 5

Girls in White Dresses, July 6

Older & Smarter?, July 7

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, July 8

For Him and My Family, July 9

deb’s Book Review, July 10

Locks, Hooks and Books, July 11

Mary Hake, July 11

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, July 12

For the Love of Literature, July 12

Library Lady’s Kid Lit, July 12

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, July 13

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 14

Blogging With Carol, July 15

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Terry is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1f7f2/oddball-ornaments-celebration-tour-giveaway


Sunday, July 3, 2022

Hunted in the Wilderness by Kellie VanHorn

 

About the Book

Book: Hunted in the Wilderness

Author: Kellie VanHorn

Genre: Inspirational Romantic Suspense

Release date: June 28, 2022

Protecting the evidence
means facing down assassins andan unforgiving wilderness…

Framed for murder and corporate espionage, future aerotech company CEO Haley Whitcombe flees in her plane with a camera full of evidence that could clear her name—until she’s shot out of the sky. Now trapped in North Cascades National Park, her survival in the wilderness depends on park ranger Ezra Dalton. Yet escaping the wild will mean nothing if they can’t outrun their merciless hunters…

 My Thoughts:

This was such a good book.  Romantic Suspense is my fav and this one was done fabulously!  I loved three characters and how fast paced the action was.  You weren’t left wanting for anything by the end of the book.

Haley is such a great female lead.  Smart and resourceful.   Loved that about her.  The setting was gorgeous.  Ezra was a great guy.  He was compassionate and protective.  I loved the faith element that was woven through the story.  Overall, wonderful book!

5/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Kellie VanHorn is an award-winning author of inspirational romantic suspense. She has college degrees in biology and nautical archaeology, but she’s always found her sense of adventure most satisfied by a great story. When not writing, Kellie can be found teaching her four children, camping, baking, and gardening. She lives with her family in west Michigan.

 

More from Kellie

One of my favorite things about being a writer is living out wild adventures in my imagination. I get to enjoy all the action and feels without any of the unpleasant real-life problems I’d face if I were actually being chased by bad guys with guns. The more exciting and far-off the setting, the better! My family loves to travel and to camp, so we’ve spent a lot of time visiting national parks around the U.S. Our favorites include Grand Teton, Rocky Mountain, Devil’s Tower, and Badlands. We pile our four kids into the car, fill it to the brim with gear, and tent our way from park to park for weeks at a time in the summer.

 

For Hunted in the Wilderness, I wanted to explore a park we haven’t had the chance to visit yet—North Cascades National Park in Washington state. In fact, my first glimpse of the story came to me when I was scrolling through my Facebook feed and saw a picture of a lake in the Cascades. Inspiration struck, and I knew the heroine of my next book had just crash-landed her Cessna airplane in those mountains, and she needed a handsome, single park ranger to come help her escape the bad guys.

 

What makes this park such a perfect setting for a romantic suspense is not only the gorgeous scenery, but also the fact it’s very remote. The region is easy enough to access via road from Seattle, but most of the protected land can only be reached on foot, horseback, or float plane. Because I hadn’t been there myself, I relied on a topographic map and lots of research to help me craft the setting and make it an indispensable part of the plot.

 

Of course, now that I’ve studied the trail systems so extensively, I’d love to visit the Cascades in person one day. One of my teenaged sons who loves hiking has all sorts of plans for us to take a long backpacking trip out there, even though neither of us has ever backpacked before. I might have to work up my courage a bit before I’ll be ready to hit the trail without our minivan full of gear. 😉

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, June 29

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 29

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, June 30

Genesis 5020, June 30

Texas Book-aholic, July 1

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 1

Inklings and notions, July 2

EmpowerMoms, July 2

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, July 3

Christina’s Corner, July 3

A Good Book and Cup of Tea, July 4

Book Looks by Lisa, July 4

Paula’s Persuasion, July 4

For Him and My Family, July 5

Blogging With Carol, July 5

deb’s Book Review, July 6

Simple Harvest Reads, July 6 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, July 7 (Author Interview)

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, July 7

Mary Hake, July 7

Betti Mace, July 8

Locks, Hooks and Books, July 8

Bigreadersite, July 9

Tell Tale Book Reviews, July 9

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, July 10

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, July 10

Labor Not in Vain, July 11

Through the Fire Blogs, July 11

Bizwings Blog, July 12

Pause for Tales, July 12

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kellie is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1f7ef/hunted-in-the-wilderness-celebration-tour-giveaway


Thursday, June 30, 2022

From Shore to Shore by Tabitha Bouldin

 

From Shore to Shore

About the Book

Book: From Shore to Shore

Author: Tabitha Bouldin

Genre: Christian Contemporary Romance

Release date: May 31, 2022

Sparrow-BOULDIN-From-Shore-to-Shore-663x1024Can one captain show her the deep love of the ultimate Captain without falling in love himself?

Bree Jamison comes to Sparrow Island for one reason: to study coral reefs. She’s not interested in happily-ever-after and certainly won’t allow her handsome boat captain to sway her into believing these islands are different from any others. But when she finds an old shipwreck and learns the history of pirates and treasure, Bree finds herself searching for something that always feels just out of reach.

Cooper Carmichael takes the job as boat captain for the enigmatic Bree to further his career. He never expected her to be so driven—or so painfully opposed to God.

All Cooper wants is his happy island life. He wants for nothing. In fact, he’s made it his mission to be content. In every aspect of his life. Bree throws a wrench in his plan as her presence pushes Cooper to want for things he deems unnecessary.

A man striving for contentment. A woman who believes God is picking on her.

It takes one to show the other that no matter which shore you find yourself on, God got there first.

Read the next Sparrow Island novel in the Independence Islands Series featuring five islands, six authors, and a boatload of happily-ever-afters.

The Independence Islands Series: beach reads aren’t just for summer anymore.

 My Thoughts:

I still love the island series!  It is sad how much we let our pasts mess with our present and future.  The author did a great job with showing this in story.  And God 

 I liked Cooper and Bree.  They were really good characters and I liked the way the author made them face things they didn’t want to and were likely wrong about.  Very well written story that I completely enjoyed.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Tabitha-Bouldin-600x574Tabitha Bouldin is a student at Southern New Hampshire University, where she is currently pursuing her Bachelor’s in Creative Writing. As a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW), she works with critique groups and provides endorsements for other authors. Tabitha’s genre of choice is Contemporary Christian Romance which she describes as: Adventure with heart. Tabitha spent ten years working as a Medical Assistant before God opened the door which allowed her to become a stay-at-home-homeschooling-mom and author.

 

More from Tabitha

Writing in the Independence Islands series has been a true blessing, and From Shore to Shore is no different, except that these characters brought out feelings that I never expected.

Most of the time, when I go into a story, I know a bit of what’s going to happen. I already understand the characters’ backstory and what has driven them to this point in there life where I’ve picked up their tale and begun to weave it into a book.

Bree decided she wanted to go another route.

Cooper didn’t want to talk to me for half the book.

Christian walked onto the page and tried to take over because he didn’t want to wait for his turn in book five.

These characters, I tell you what, they’re a demanding bunch.

Finally, though, finally they settled in and told me their story.

You might remember Cooper, he’s Mel’s brother and he showed up in book one, Mishaps off the Mainland. Cooper is a delightful yet careful captain who delights in the open ocean and loves the islands.

Bree is a tangled mess of consternation. She scorns love and believes it to be a trap. Even God’s love is suspect in Bree’s eyes.

These two are imperfectly suited for each other, but God has a plan to help them both, and He helped me through every page of From Shore to Shore, a story that shows no matter how far you run, no matter what shore you find yourself on, God got there first.

Blog Stops

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 23

Christina’s Corner, June 23

lakesidelivingsite, June 24

An Author’s Take, June 25

Texas Book-aholic, June 25

Inklings and notions, June 26

For Him and My Family, June 27

Sylvan Musings, June 27

deb’s Book Review, June 28

Aryn the Libraryan, June 29

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 29

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 30

Life, Love, Writing, July 1

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, July 1

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, July 2

Blossoms and Blessings, July 3

Miriam Jacob, July 3

She Lives To Read, July 4

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, July 5

Blogging With Carol, July 5

Simple Harvest Reads, July 6 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tabitha is giving away the grand prize package a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1f45b/from-shore-to-shore-celebration-tour-giveaway