Friday, November 26, 2021

God is Coming by Maggie Philpot

 

God is Coming

About the Book

Book: God Is Coming

Author: Maggie Philpot

Genre: Children’s books, Christian books

Release date: October 15, 2021

Image 8-3-21 at 1.19 PMIn a search for a book that presented the beauty and mystery of the advent season with elegance and simplicity meant to be enjoyed by the entire family, God Is Coming was born. This Advent Journey traces the story of God’s relentless pursuit of His children and all of the anticipation of the holiday season in simple, rhyme and meter. Children and adults alike will be touched by the reminders of the profound truths of the gospel and families will return to these stories and these iconic images year after year.

My Thoughts:

Completely enjoyed this book   


4/5

 Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Maggie PhilpotMaggie Philpot wrote her first children’s story when she was in middle school (a story about an egg named Eggbert) and she has been dreaming up stories ever since. She lives in Fort Worth with her spectacular husband (whom she calls Husband), her two precocious children, and a rather ridiculous dog, Tucker. She is passionate about anything and anyone who attempts to make beauty, order, and meaning in this crazy world. The simple act of writing is one way to do just that.

 

More from Maggie

In a search for a book that presented the beauty and mystery of the Advent season with elegance and simplicity, God Is Coming was born. This book traces the story of God’s pursuit of His children and all of the anticipation of the Christmas season in simple, rhyme and meter. This year available in a deluxe hardback edition with full-color illustrations, offering you the opportunity to bring home a truly heirloom-quality book to be a part of your holiday traditions!

Blog Stops

Lighthouse-Academy, November 17

Vicky Sluiter, November 17

Simple Harvest Reads, November 18 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Library Lady’s Kid Lit, November 19

Inklings and notions, November 19

Texas Book-aholic, November 20

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 21

deb’s Book Review, November 22

The Adventures of a Travelers Wife, November 23

For Him and My Family, November 23

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 24

Labor Not in Vain, November 25

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 26

Mary Hake, November 26

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, November 27

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, November 28

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 29

Maureen’s Musings, November 29

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 30

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Maggie is giving away the grand prize package of a copy of God Is Coming and a hand-crafted wooden advent spiral!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/13cf9/god-is-coming-celebration-tour-giveaway

Wednesday, November 24, 2021

Murder at the Empire by Cathe Swanson

 


About the Book

Book: Murder at the Empire

Author: Cathe Swanson

Genre: Christian Historical Mystery, Fairytale retelling

Release date: October 5, 2021

Gayle Wells is a killer organist, but does a killer have her in his sights?

They call him the Emperor.  John Starek fills his theater with fine artwork and treasures. He’s particularly pleased to have one of the country’s first female organists – and he thinks Gayle Wells is the bee’s knees.

Despite pressure from her social crusader mother, Gayle isn’t interested in changing the world. She just wants a car of her own – and a career playing the organ at the Empire movie palace would be especially ducky.

Then the Empire’s treasures start disappearing and employees start dying. Are a few pieces of art really enough motive for the string of murders? Will Gayle be next?

Murder at the Empire brings the Nightingale into an elegant movie palace in the roaring 20’s – but the real excitement is all off-screen.

 My Thoughts:

I liked this one.  I can't think of many books from the 20's, much less ones I would enjoy, but these books have been pleasantly surprising.  There is a lot of information from the era that I simply didn't know.  It is just part of the story so you get an enjoyable history lesson without even noticing.

It is a short book so there is a lot packed into it.  The characters are well written and the author does incorporate some of the bigger issues from the time period.  I liked the mystery and music info.  Overall it was an enjoyable read and I will read more from this author in the future.

3/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

After 40 years of wandering (but always in lovely places and not in a desert), Cathe Swanson has recently returned to her childhood home and family in Minnesota.  In the summer, she and her husband enjoy spending time with their grandchildren and being outdoors, gardening, hiking, birdwatching, and kayaking. The long winters are perfect for writing books, playing games, reading, and indoor hobbies. Cathe’s been a quilter and teacher of quiltmaking for over 25 years and enjoys just about any kind of creative work, especially those involving fiber or paper.

Everything inspires new books! A lifelong love of quilting, Cathe’s Swedish heritage and an interest in genealogy led to The Glory Quilts series, and The Hope Again series is inspired by her life in the Midwest and experiences with the elderly, the military, and inner-city ministry. As a child of the sixties, she’s having fun writing about hippies and the Jesus People movement in the Serenity Hill series.

 

Cathe writes books with creative plots and engaging characters of all ages, to glorify God and entertain and bless readers. Her heartwarming stories will make you laugh and make you cry – and then make you laugh again.

 

More from Cathe

The 1920’s is a fascinating era. Women had recently won the right to vote, and America adopted the Volstead Act – Prohibition – which led to the growth of underground clubs and organized crime. Women were forging new paths in social reform, politics, science, medicine and every other career. America became more urbanized, building suburbs and developing a large middle-class population. The affordable automobile changed the entire culture! It was a time of innovation and rapidly expanding technology. Synthetic fabrics, convenience foods, electric appliances and other inventions made daily life easier. People had more free time, money and access to a variety of entertainments than ever before.

 

So much happened in this brief, exciting decade between the end of WWI and the Great Depression! It’s always interested me, so I was flattered and thrilled when Celebrate Lit Publishing invited me to participate in The Ever After Mysteries, a collection of 1920’s mysteries inspired by fairy tales. I’m a great fan of mysteries from the Golden Age of Detective Fiction, and I read at least a thousand fairy tales as a child.

 

To be honest… I set about it backward. I knew I wanted to write about a young woman playing the Mighty Wurlitzer organ to accompany silent films at a glamorous movie palace, so I Iooked for a fairy tale to match it!

 

I chose The Nightingale, an old Chinese story about an Emperor with a beautiful palace. Everything in it was exquisite and fragile, and people came from all over the world to admire his palace. He loved to show it off and even tied little bells to the prettiest blossoms in the garden, to make sure no one missed them. When the emperor heard rumors about a bird that sang more beautifully than anything else, he sought it out and brought it home to live in the palace, where it could sing to entertain him and his guests.

At that point, the fairy tale and my story diverge. In the fairy tale, the nightingale lives in the palace singing for the court until the Emperor of Japan presents the Emperor of China with a bejeweled mechanical bird – so much prettier than the plain brown nightingale. The Chinese emperor abandons the real bird and enjoys the mechanical one until it breaks. He falls into a deep depression and is only restored to health by the return of the real nightingale.

 

None of that happens in Murder at the Empire, but there’s lot of other fun, jazzy excitement as the John Starek – the “Emperor” – fills his magnificent movie palace with fine artwork and beautiful things – including Chicago’s first female theater organist, Gayle Wells. He thinks she’s the bee’s knees, but she’s a pretty independent girl, busy working and saving money to buy her own car.

 

And then things start falling apart… with murder at the Empire. I hope you enjoy reading this book as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, November 16

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 17

Blossoms and Blessings, November 17

Texas Book-aholic, November 18

Blogging With Carol, November 18

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, November 19

deb’s Book Review, November 20

Sodbusterliving, November 20

Inklings and notions, November 21

For Him and My Family, November 22

Simple Harvest Reads, November 22 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 23

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 24

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, November 24

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, November 25 (Author Interview)

For the Love of Literature, November 25

Connie’s History Classroom, November 26

Genesis 5020, November 26

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 27

Connect in Fiction, November 27

Back Porch Reads, November 28

Through the fire blogs, November 28

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 29

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Cathe is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/133b9/murder-at-the-empire-celebration-tour

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Garrett by Izzy James

 

About the Book

Book: Garrett

Author: Izzy James

Genre: Christian Romance

Release date: November 27, 2020

Garrett Tyler thought he was leaving Ballard House for home, secure in the knowledge that love had finally won-out for his long-time friend Olivia. He steps out the door and into the past, 1769 to be exact. While finding his bearings Garrett stumbles upon a beautiful woman being attacked. He makes sure she gets home and because of his kindness, she allows him to stay in an outbuilding—even believing his time travel story—while he figures out how he will get back to his life in the future. The more time they spend together, the deeper friendship they build, but one thing is going to rip her world apart.

Mercy Hansford is a confidant, independent woman running her own tailor shoppe. Her world is shaken when she is brutally attacked after delivering one of her sought-after shirts. The consequences of this night could be more far-reaching than either of them can guess.

Should Mercy trust a man she barely knows?

 My Thoughts:

This is a really short book so it is a quick read.  I didn't realize it was part of a series, but I picked on what was going on fairly quickly.  It is a good time travel story.  I liked how quickly Mercy believed Garrett's story about being from the future.  I'm not sure I would have been that trusting. 

The events that happened kept you wanting to read more and figure out what happened.  The differenced Garrett noted about the past and present were interesting to me and quite realistic.  The author did good and packed quite a lot into just few pages.  I really enjoyed it.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

izzy_jamesIzzy James grew up in coastal Virginia. She lives there still with her fabulous husband in a house brimming with books.

 

More from Izzy

Why did I write Garrett?

While I was writing Max I was working through physical therapy prior to a lumbar fusion surgery. My physical therapist’s assistant was a young man named Garrett. He was intrigued that I was a writer and asked me if I would use his name in a book one day. So I had a name.

As I finished writing Max–who came forward in time from 1769–I started thinking about what it would be like for a young person of today to find himself back in 1769.

Garrett of the book bears no resemblance to Garrett of the physical therapy office! Garrett was fun to write. I hope you will enjoy reading it.

If you’d like to hear more about my books and be included in a monthly giveaway sign up for my newsletter.

Newsletter Link: https://vr2.verticalresponse.com/s/websitesignupform0708201983447pm

Every Christmas I send Christmas cards to each member of my Christmas Club. I pray for each reader as I sign and address the cards. If you’d like a Christmas Card from me please sign up before December 1. It does require your physical address. It will never be used for anything else.

Christmas Card Link: https://vr2.verticalresponse.com/s/websitesignupform0708201975614pm

Both email and physical addresses are held sacred. They will never ber sold or used for anything but what you signed up for.

Blog Stops

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 16

Britt Reads Fiction, November 16

Texas Book-aholic, November 17

Inklings and notions, November 18

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, November 18

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, November 19

By the Book, November 19

Simple Harvest Reads, November 20 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

For Him and My Family, November 20

deb’s Book Review, November 21

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 22

Kayem Reads, November 22

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 23

Connie’s History Classroom, November 24

Mary Hake, November 24

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, November 25

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 26

Stephanie’s Life of Determination, November 26

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 27

The Meanderings of a Bookworm, November 28

Pause for Tales, November 28

Connect in Fiction, November 29

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Izzy is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/133b3/garrett-celebration-tour-giveaway

Sunday, November 21, 2021

Unintended Detour by D.L. Wood

 

About the Book

Book: Unintended Detour

Author: D.L. Wood

Genre: Christian Suspense/Romantic Suspense

Release date: October 21, 2021

A hundred-year-old secret might be the cause of and the key to solving a
murder.

Jack and Chloe Bartholomew just wanted a romantic second honeymoon in the beautiful Hudson River Valley at the legendary hotel his family recently acquired. However, instead of spa treatments and horseback rides through the snow, things are all wrong at the Stonehall Estate Resort. 

First, she learns of months of unexplained mishaps.

And now murder.

It soon becomes clear someone wants the resort to fail and will stop at nothing to make that happen. The question is…why?

In an effort to help the family business, Chloe picks up where the hotel’s last historical curator left off. But things quickly grow dangerous as her research uncovers truths hidden for decades—clues related not only to the mysteries sparked by a young girl’s death in 1931, but also those haunting the estate today. Soon Chloe is caught in a deadly race to expose the mansion’s secrets before more innocents become victims of the malevolent force behind it all.

Will Chloe bring the long-lost truth to light in time, or will she be the next to fall prey to the dark scheme, costing her everything, including her life?

 My Thoughts:

Love these kind of books and this one was really well written.  It is in a series but can be read as a stand alone just fine.  This is the kind of story that grabs you from the start and just doesn't let go.  Thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish.

I liked that the characters weren't one dimensional but were really well developed and easy to get into.  The story flowed well and I enjoyed the guessing and not knowing.  Overall it was a good book that I thoroughly enjoyed.

5/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

D.L. Wood is a USA TODAY bestselling author who writes thrilling suspense laced with romance and faith. Her books have won multiple awards (2016 Illumination Book Awards Gold Medal for best Christian Fiction Ebook; 2019 Illumination Book Awards Gold Medal for best General Christian Fiction) and her novel Unintended Target was selected as the May 2019 American Christian Fiction Writers Book Club book. She is an Amazon bestselling author of Christian Mystery & Suspense and millions of pages of her books have been read through Kindle Unlimited.

D.L. writes CleanCaptivatingFiction™- fiction that entertains and uplifts. In her novels she tries to give readers the same thing that she wants: a “can’t-put-it-down-stay-up-till-3am” character-driven story, full of heart, believability and adrenaline.

D.L. lives in North Alabama, where, if she’s not writing, you’ll probably catch her curled up with a cup of Earl Grey (light milk, one sugar) and her Westies – Frodo and Dobby – bingeing on the latest BBC mystery series. You can stay apprised of D.L.’s releases and promotions (including free and discounted books) by subscribing to her newsletter on her website at dlwoodonline.com.

 

More from D.L. Wood

I love stories. I’ve always loved them. Stories carry you away, make you think, take you on suspense-filled rides and introduce you to characters that you love so much you want to meet them in real life. I’m such a voracious reader that at the age of nine, my eye doctor told me if I didn’t start reading with more light, I’d need glasses way too early. Can you relate?

 

I guess that’s why I became a writer—to be part of the amazing adventure that is storytelling.

 

And let’s face it. Right now, most of us wouldn’t mind an amazing adventure.

 

In my Unintended Series of suspense novels, you’ll visit sizzling Caribbean beaches, Tennessee in golden autumn, and a snow-blanketed Hudson River Valley with a cup of hot cocoa in hand. You’ll go with characters that are believable—flawed, brave and hopeful—in the face of danger. Of course, there’s always romance in the mix and touches of faith, leaving you encouraged as well as entertained.

 

It’s what I’d want to read, so I wrote it for you.

I’m beyond thrilled that the third book in the series is releasing. Frankly, I wanted to see what happened to Chloe, Jack, and Riley as much as my readers did!

 

I hope you enjoy reading Unintended Detour as much as I enjoyed writing it—and that you have an amazing adventure along the way.

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, November 12

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 12

lakesidelivingsite, November 13

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, November 14

Texas Book-aholic, November 15

An Author’s Take, November 15

Inklings and notions, November 16

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, November 17 (Author Interview)

For Him and My Family, November 17

deb’s Book Review, November 18

Daysong Reflections, November 19

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 20

Blogging With Carol, November 20

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, November 21

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, November 22

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, November 23

Mary Hake, November 23

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, November 24

Pause for Tales, November 25

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, D.L. is giving away a $40 Amazon gift card and a signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/133ab/unintended-detour-celebration-tour-giveaway