Tuesday, January 19, 2021

A Heart's Gift by Lena Nelson Dooley

  


About the Book

Book:  A Heart’s Gift

Author: Lena Nelson Dooley

Genre: Christian historical romance

Is a marriage of convenience the answer?


 Franklin Vine has worked hard to build the ranch he inherited into one of the most successful in the majestic Colorado mountains. If only he had an heir to one day inherit the legacy he’s building. But he was burned once in the worst way, and he doesn’t plan to open his heart to another woman. Even if that means he’ll eventually have to divide up his spread among the most loyal of his hired hands.

When Lorinda Sullivan is finally out from under the control of men who made all the decisions in her life, she promises herself she’ll never allow a man to make choices for her again. But without a home in the midst of a hard Rocky Mountain winter, she has to do something to provide for her infant son.

A marriage of convenience seems like the perfect arrangement, yet the stakes quickly become much higher than either of them ever planned. When hearts become entangled, the increasing danger may change their lives forever.

 My Thoughts:

To be honest, I wasn't really in the mood for a historical romance when I picked this book up.  It sounded good but I just wasn't feeling that type book.  Boy am I glad I went ahead and went with it.  Lorinda and Franklin are now some of my favorite characters.  It is a marriage of convenience book (which I am a sucker for).

The author did a good job with both the characters and the story.  It pulls you in and makes you fall just a bit in love.  Lorinda has a past that hurts, and Franklin keeps his hands off.  I like the pull the two feel for each other.  Overall, this was just a well done book that I'm glad to have read. 

It was a 4/5 for me.

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Lena Nelson Dooley has been an author for 36 years. Her 51st book released in June 2020. 
Raised in Arkansas, she married a Texan 56 years ago. They have lived in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex for decades. She is an active member of ACFW and one of the founding members the DFW local chapter. She’s often been a speaker for other writers’ groups and conferences, both as a keynote speaker and a workshop teacher. Her fans love reading her books filled with characters who grip your heart.

 

MORE FROM LENA

THE STORY BEHIND A HEART’S GIFT

I’ve been a lover of history for decades. In college and graduate school, all my elective courses were history. Of course, I chose the countries and eras I wanted to learn about. When I began writing novels, my first one was a contemporary story. After that at least 75% or more of my novels have been historical, from 1805 through the early 20th century.

I’ve always been fascinated by the relationship between Joseph and Mary the mother of Jesus. The Bible doesn’t give us a lot of information about their relationship. But by his actions, we can assume that Joseph believed the angel and Mary about her baby. He didn’t do the usual thing and put her away quietly. Instead, he protected her, and from the day He was born, he became the earthly father of Jesus. I’ve often thought about what that meant for Joseph and for Mary. When I wrote a story of a marriage between a man and a single mother, I used the emotions that I feel God has revealed to me about their relationship.

The first time I read a marriage of convenience novel, I loved it. And I’ve read quite a few. I’ve also written a few. A Heart’s Gift is one of them. This book was an easy and interesting book to write.

I’m what’s called in the industry a seat-of-the-pants author, more or less. I do have the complete outline of the story in my head. When I sit down to write, I know where I’m going, but I don’t have every single scene plotted out as some authors do. And I pray a lot. During the time I’m writing a book, God drops ideas into my mind. Not just while I’m writing, but other times, too. That’s the exciting thing about writing. This keeps it fresh for me.

During the writing of A Heart’s Gift, there’s a place where I just stopped and said, “God, what am I going to do now?” When you get there, you’ll know what scene I mean, but I don’t want to give a spoiler.

I never dreamed that the book would turn into a suspense novel in the last quarter of the book, but God knew. And it made it a better book.

Blog Stops

Connie’s History Classroom, January 13

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, January 13

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, January 14

Maureen’s Musings, January 14

Reviewingbooksplusmore, January 15

Sara Jane Jacobs, January 15

Inklings and notions, January 16

Mypreciousbitsandmusings, January 16

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, January 17

Writing from the Heart Land, January 17

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, January 18

Betti Mace, January 18

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, January 19

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, January 19

Artistic Nobody, January 20 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Melissa Wardwell’s Back Porch Reads, January 20

Older & Smarter?, January 21

lalkesidelivingsite, January 21

For Him and My Family, January 22

Labor Not in Vain, January 22

Locks, Hooks and Books, January 23

Jodie Wolfe – Stories Where Hope and Quirky Meet, January 23

Texas Book-aholic, January 24

To Everything There Is A Season, January 24

deb’s Book Review, January 25

Lis Loves Reading, January 25

Splashes of Joy, January 26

Pause for Tales, January 26

Mary Hake, January 26

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Lena is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/105a2/a-heart-s-gift-celebration-tour-giveaway

Sunday, January 17, 2021

Love, Again by Tamara G. Coope

 


About the Book

Book:  Love, Again

Author: Tamara G. Cooper

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: September 11, 2020

Jake Barrett is devastated when he loses his wife and toddler son in a terrible, fiery accident.


What made it even more painful is that an unidentified man was found in the car with them. The police suggest that his wife was having an affair. Since that horrible day two years ago, Jake has questioned everything about himself and his marriage and found no answers. He returns home to his family’s Texas ranch to try to find healing there and maybe learn to trust again.

Twice, Honor McKee was engaged to be married, and twice, she was stood up just days before the wedding. Adding to her embarrassment is the fact that she is a marriage counselor, someone who gives advice to others about love and relationships. Ashamed and deeply hurt, she loses faith in herself and her ability to choose a man willing to commit.

Although they are both wounded and disappointed in love, Jake and Honor meet and manage to stumble their way toward friendship and, quite possibly, more. But their lives are turned upside down when trust in each other is needed the most, and neither has it to give.

Will they learn that there is more to life than living in past failures, that it really is possible to find love again?

 My Thoughts:

This book has such a realistic set of characters and circumstances.  I related to the trust issues both the main characters had.  Once you've been hurt, it's hard to trust again because you expect to just get hurt again.  There was a bit of a twist with Honor being a marriage counselor and everything that has happened to her.

My heart broke for Jake on multiple levels.  Losing his wife and son, and then all the suspicion.  It would wreck your mind.  Having faith and letting God help you through instead of being determined to do it on your own is a big thing though.  Overall, this was a good one.

It was a 4/5 for me.

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Tamara G. Cooper lives in Texas with her husband, three boys, and five dogs. She enjoys
writing mysteries with a touch of romance. Love, Again is her first romance.

 

More from Tamara

When I thought of writing “Love, Again”, I wanted to find out what would happen between two very-hurt people who stumbled into the beginnings of a friendship but didn’t have the trust it took for the relationship to go any further. What would help them see their flaws? What did they need to learn to become more than the past had let them be?

I loved getting to know Jake and Honor. Without giving anything away, I walked with them through their discoveries about themselves and each other. I hope you enjoy their journey!

Blog Stops

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, January 9

Sara Jane Jacobs, January 9

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, January 10

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, January 11

Blogging With Carol, January 11

Texas Book-aholic, January 12

Labor Not in Vain, January 12

Inklings and notions, January 13

For Him and My Family, January 14

Reflections From My Bookshelves, January 14

deb’s Book Review, January 15

NovelsCorner, January 15

Artistic Nobody, January 16 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Splashes of Joy, January 17

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, January 17

Spoken from the Heart, January 18

Locks, Hooks and Books, January 19

Batya’s Bits, January 20

Pause for Tales, January 20

Blossoms and Blessings, January 21

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, January 22

Maureen’s Musings, January 22

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Tamara is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10535/love-again-celebration-tour-giveaway

Saturday, January 16, 2021

Our Town Atheist by Victoria Buck

 

About the Book

Book:  Our Town Atheist

Author: Victoria Buck

Genre: Christian Women’s Fiction

Release Date: October 30, 2020

Small-town banker Adam Bender tackles a robber and loses. But that’s not what shakes the
foundations of his well-managed life. He awakens in the hospital to the vision of an angel. But that’s not what casts doubt on his reasonable judgment. Turns out the angel is only a beautiful doctor—someone Adam wants to get to know better.

The bank robber is on the loose and out to get Adam. News spreads in the gossipy little town of Adam’s misfortune, his love interest, and his…atheism? He’d thought he could keep that a secret. But Adam Bender can handle it. Or, can he?

What happens one night on a mountain road leaves him questioning his worldview. And his sanity. And soon the whole town is waiting to find out if what Adam saw will alter his unbelief.

 My Thoughts:

I really liked the opening of this book.  I love suspense so that was a plus for me.  The author is new to me so I got used to her writing style and actually enjoyed it.  Her descriptions are well written and words pull you in and make you want to read more.

Adam was an intriguing character.  I wasn't sure if I was really going to like him or not in the beginning, but he grew on me.  I loved watching him grow and navigate the slippery slope he was on.  It isn't easy being in a place where your beliefs are in the minority at all.  I think the author handled this well and the romance was spot on.  Overall, it was a really good book.

It was a 4/5 for me.

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Victoria Buck is a native Floridian running a small business with her husband, who teaches her everything she needs to know about both melodrama and comic relief. Wake the Dead is her debut novel. Killswitch is the follow-up to book one. Transfusion is the last book in the trilogy about the world’s first transhuman.

Now, on to other stories! Victoria is currently working on two present-day novels. No transhumans or insurrections. Of course, there has to be a bit of a weird twist!

 

More from Victoria

Have you ever heard of a porkpie hat? Maurice is wearing one that terrible night when Adam sees him. The Chief of Police hasn’t seen a porkpie in Crossroads for decades, but old Mrs. Jones can tell you all about it. I wasn’t familiar with the hat until I wrote this story. Now I have one of my own!

I admit unusual characters pop into my head. Not your typical protagonist for someone who writes from a Christian worldview, Adam Bender showed up in my imagination after I wrote some blog posts about atheism. Those posts drew more response than I expected from the atheist community. Some were not so kind, but others wanted only to exchange ideas and explain their views in a non-confrontational manner. That’s when this easy-going, fictitious atheist began speaking to the writer in me. I let him talk for a while, and then I had to tell his story.

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, January 12

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, January 13

Sara Jane Jacobs, January 14

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, January 15

Susan K. Beatty, Author, January 16 (Author Interview)

Ashley’s Bookshelf, January 16

Artistic Nobody, January 17 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Locks, Hooks and Books, January 18

deb’s Book Review, January 19

Inklings and notions, January 20

For Him and My Family, January 21

Texas Book-aholic, January 22

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, January 23

Stories By Gina, January 24 (Author Interview)

Mary Hake, January 24

CarpeDiem, January 25

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Victoria is giving away the grand prize package of an eBook copy of the book and a porkpie hat!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10539/our-town-atheist-celebration-giveaway

Friday, January 15, 2021

In His Presence by Dr. E.W. Kenyon

  


About the Book

Book:  In His Presence

Author: Dr. E.W. Kenyon

Genre: RELIGION / Christian Living/Prayer

Release Date: December 11, 2020

Here, at last, is a real solution to the prayer problem!


In His Presence by E. W. Kenyon is not about who others were and what they did in prayer, but about who we are and what we can do in prayer. It lifts the curtain to the Holy of Holies and reveals our ability to enter in and stand before the presence of God.

In this book, you will discover that God’s ability is available to every one of His children. You will be challenged to climb the heights and sound the depths of tremendous spiritual realities, including the authority of the name of Jesus and how to use it.

In His Presence has been a challenge and blessing to countless multitudes all over the world. It removes the mist surrounding the prayer life, leading us out of spiritual mysticism into the true light of life.

This is your invitation to open the door…enter…and stand in the Father’s presence!

 My Thoughts:

This book is a good one if you are wanting to improve your prayer life (and I absolutely needed to).  The author explains things well and shows how we can pray.  We should have an active prayer life and pray about everything and I know I absolutely don't.  I think it was a really good one.

It was a 4/5 for me.  I will be looking at it more closely in the future.

Thank you to the auth0r/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 About the Author

Dr. E. W. Kenyon (1867–1948) was born in Saratoga County, New York. At age nineteen, 
he preached his first sermon. He pastored several churches in New England and founded the Bethel Bible Institute in Spencer, Massachusetts. (The school later became the Providence Bible Institute when it was relocated to Providence, Rhode Island.) Kenyon served as an evangelist for over twenty years. In 1931, he became a pioneer in Christian radio on the Pacific Coast with his show Kenyon’s Church of the Air, where he earned the moniker “The Faith Builder.” He also began the New Covenant Baptist Church in Seattle. In addition to his pastoral and radio ministries, Kenyon wrote extensively. Among his books are The Blood CovenantIn His PresenceJesus the HealerNew Creation Realities, and Two Kinds of Righteousness.

 

More from Whitaker House

In His Presence by EW Kenyon is not written about what others were and did, but about what we are and can do! It is a lifting of the curtain and a revealing of the holy of holies and our ability to enter it and stand in the presence of the Father. In His Presence is a discovery of the fact that God’s ability is available to every child of God. This is your invitation to open the door…enter…and stand in His presence, in the presence of the Father!

Blog Stops

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, January 7

Texas Book-aholic, January 8

Inklings and notions, January 9

Tell Tale Book Reviews, January 10

deb’s Book Review, January 10

Locks, Hooks and Books, January 11

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, January 12

Artistic Nobody, January 13

For the Love of Literature, January 14

Ashley’s Bookshelf, January 15

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, January 16

Sara Jane Jacobs, January 17

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, January 18

Vicky Sluiter, January 19

Mary Hake, January 19

For Him and My Family, January 20

Giveaway

To celebrate their tour, Whitaker House is giving away the grand prize package of a $20 Starbucks gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10533/in-his-presence-celebration-tour-giveaway