Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Gold Rush Bride Hannah by Linda Shenton Matchett

 


About the Book

Book:  Gold Rush Bride, Hannah

Author: Linda Shenton Matchett

Genre: Historical Romance

Release date: May 18, 2021

Recently widowed, she’s doesn’t need another man in her life. He’s not looking for a wife. But
when danger thrusts them together, will they change their minds…and hearts?

Hannah Lauman’s husband has been murdered, but rather than grief, she feels…relief. She decides to remain in Georgia to work their gold claim, but a series of incidents make it clear someone wants her gone…dead or alive. Is a chance at being a woman of means and independence worth risking her life?

Jess Vogel never breaks a promise, so when he receives a letter from a former platoon mate about being in danger, he drops everything to help his old friend. Unfortunately, he arrives just in time for the funeral. Can he convince the man’s widow he’s there for her protection not for her money?

Gold Rush Bride: Hannah is the first book in the exciting new series Gold Rush Brides. Steeped in romance, intrigue, and history, the story will keep you turning pages long into the night.

 My Thoughts:

This was a good historical book.  I liked both Hannah and Jess.  Both were very well written characters with good personalities and realistic lives.  Jess dropped everything to go and help when Hannah's husband wrote and said he was in danger.  That said a lot about him to me. 

I loved that Hannah was determined to take care of herself.  She was going to work the claim, but there is someone who really doesn't want her to.  She and Jess are a good couple and I liked the distrust to more through the story.  Overall it was a good read.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Linda Shenton Matchett writes about ordinary people who did extraordinary things in days gone by. A volunteer docent and archivist for the Wright Museum of WWII, Linda is a former trustee for her local public library. She is a native of Baltimore, Maryland and was born a stone’s throw from Fort McHenry. Linda has lived in historic places all her life, and is now located in central New Hampshire where her favorite activities include exploring historic sites and immersing herself in the imaginary worlds created by other authors.

 

More from Linda

Dear Readers,

 

Have you ever heard the quote about Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers that says, “Sure he was great, but don’t forget that Ginger Rogers did everything he did, backwards…and in high heels?” Originally seen in a 1982 Frank and Ernest comic strip, the line has been used by many people from comedians to politicians.

 

A slight twist on the statement can be made about women in the centuries before modern attire allowed them to wear slacks…they did everything men did, but in floor-length skirts (to say nothing of when they had to wear corsets!). A few examples include cooking over an open hearth, hauling water before the invention of pumps and indoor plumbing, farm work such as milking cows or gardening, and riding a horse.

 

One of my favorite aspects about writing is developing the characters, especially the female protagonists. Mine are typically…well, untypical. The gals in my books are war correspondents, mechanics, spies, doctors, pilots, and midwives, just to name a few. While thinking about what to write next, I stumbled on an article about female prospectors, and I knew I had my story.

 

I continued to dig and was delighted to find journals and diaries of these stalwart women who either followed their husbands, brothers, or fathers to the gold field or actually set out on their own. Instead of setting my novel during the well-known California gold rush of 1849, Gold Rush Bride Hannah takes place two decades earlier in northern Georgia where more than one million dollars of gold was unearthed.

 

The few images I found confirmed my suspicion. These women prospected alongside the men,  swirling their pans of silt hour after hour…all while wearing a dress.

 

I hope you enjoy Hannah’s story.

Blog Stops

Adventures of a Travelers Wife, June 22 (Author Interview)

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 22

deb’s Book Review, June 23

For Him and My Family, June 24

Texas Book-aholic, June 25

Jodie Wolfe – Stories Where Hope and Quirky Meet, June 26 (Author Interview)

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 26

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 27

Connie’s History Classroom, June 28

Inklings and notions, June 29

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 30

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, July 1

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, July 2

Artistic Nobody, July 3 (Author Interview)

Reviewingbooksplusmore, July 3

Splashes of Joy, July 4 (Author Interview)

Mary Hake, July 5

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize package of a $50 Visa Gift Card and signed copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10e00/gold-rush-bride-hannah-celebration-tour-giveaway

Monday, June 21, 2021

The Songstress by Lori Bates Wright

 


About the Book

Book:  The Songstress

Author: Lori Bates Wright

Genre: Christian Historical Romance

Release date: April 16, 2021

Rising opera star, Juliana Chamberlain, still has nightmares of the night she witnessed the


assassination of the President of the United States from her spot on stage at Ford Theater. Recruited by The Pinkerton Detective Agency, Juliana was instrumental in bringing those responsible to justice.

Now, two years later, the Pinkertons ask her once again to join forces in exposing a corrupt political organization terrorizing her home in Texas.

Texas Ranger, Cade Matlock, has a job to do. He needs no help from a meddlesome diva with big ideas. However, he is a man of his word. He’s committed to partner with the lovely songstress to smoke out the mastermind of a dangerous clan who has proven he will stop at nothing to satisfy his thirst for vengeance.

Cade and Juliana soon discover their greatest strength is in working together until shadows of the past threaten to destroy their future.

 My Thoughts:

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  Juliana is a great detective, but Cade is, lets just say, skeptical.  I love stories about strong women and when they are in roles that are unusual for women in the time period, that makes it even better.  This one was great.

There was always something going on and the story didn't slow down.  I like that the description of singing and Juliana's voice, music really does have power.  Cade and Juliana work well together and I like how their relationship develops into trust and a real partnership.  Overall, it was a really good book and I'm glad I read it.

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Lori Bates Wright is an award winning author with a love for history.

Raised in New Mexico, Lori now lives in Texas with her husband of 38 years. She has two grown kids and four adorable grand boys (who leap tall buildings in a single bound!) When she’s not writing, she’s heading up small group ministries with her husband. She enjoys speaking and interacting with women of all ages.

 

More from Lori

Growing up, my family loved to laugh.

 

Some of my favorite childhood memories are centered around my grandmother’s dining room table listening in while my parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles told amazing stories. Sometimes I laughed until I’d lose my breath. Sometimes I sat quietly, taking in the bravery and perseverance shown by those who’d gone before me.

History has been a passion ever since. Couple that with an insatiable love for story and there you have the heart of what inspires me to write.

So, when it came time to brain-storm for this brand new series, I decided to take a known historical event and think about it from every angle. Beyond the recognized players, to the “what if” characters that might have played a role. And, ultimately, how such an event would have changed the course of their lives.

 

Thus, a star was born.

 

In THE SONGSTRESS, Juliana Chamberlain witnessed the assassination from her place on the stage. Because I love a little mystery and intrigue, I decided that the leading detective agency of the day would have enlisted her help in identifying the accomplices. Allen Pinkerton had been known to hire a lady detective or two, so she would be trained by the best. Her investigative skills proved helpful in bringing a quick resolution to the case.

Fast forward four years and she’s still haunted by what she saw that night. When Pinkerton again approaches her about a case involving her family in Texas, she accepts.

 

Being from Texas, I was so happy she did. I’ve wanted to write a story based in the Lone Star State for quite awhile. I loved visiting Georgia and the shores of England in my last series, but I have to say it was good to bring this one home. With all the rugged charm of the post-Civil War era, this book has a little more local flavor than my last three. Al-in-all, I believe my readers are in for a treat. A new cast of fun, quirky characters as we revisit a significant time in our nation.

 

So, here’s to new beginnings! Or as we say in Texas, “Hang on, y’all are in for a wild ride!”

Happy reading!
Lori

Blog Stops

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, June 11

Reflections From My Bookshelves, June 11

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 12

Connect in Fiction, June 12

Inklings and notions, June 13

Rebecca Tews, June 13

Texas Book-aholic, June 14

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, June 14

lakesidelivingsite, June 15

To Everything There Is A Season, June 15

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, June 15

For Him and My Family, June 16

Labor Not in Vain, June 16

deb’s Book Review, June 17

Genesis 5020, June 17

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 18

HookMeInABook, June 18

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, June 19

Inside the Wong Mind, June 19

The Christian Fiction Girl, June 20

Connie’s History Classroom, June 20

A Baker’s Perspective, June 21

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 21

Blossoms and Blessings, June 22

Lis Loves Reading, June 22

Pause for Tales, June 23

A Good Book and Cup of Tea, June 23

Mary Hake, June 23

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 24

KarenSueHadley, June 24

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Lori is giving away the grand prize package of a Texas Gift basket including a signed copy of THE SONGSTRESS and a $25 Amazon Gift Card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10d53/the-songstress-celebration-tour-giveaway

Sunday, June 20, 2021

Dark Threat by Kimberly Rose Johnso

 


About the Book

Book:  Dark Threat

Author: Kimberly Rose Johnson

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release date: June 1, 2021

Reporter Trinity Lockhart pursues a story but then unwittingly becomes the story.

Acting on a tip from an anonymous source, Trinity investigates an art trafficking ring at a high-end Seattle gallery. She turns to handsome FBI agent Kyle Richards for help after being spotted by the crooks.

Kyle is drawn to the feisty reporter, but he can’t afford a beautiful distraction when lives are at stake. He must trust his friends at Protection Inc. to watch over Trinity while he investigates the gallery.

Will this couple overcome the impossible odds threatening to keep them apart?

 My Thoughts:

I really like the little family this author has created in her series of Protection, Inc.  They are there for each other in wonderful ways.  I liked Kyle the most of the couple honestly.  He is steadfast and strong.  Not saying he doesn't have his flaws but of the two he was my fav.  It wasn't that I didn't like Trinity, it just took longer to get to know her.

There is plenty of action throughout to keep your attention.  The slow way we get to know Trinity leads you to falling in love with her character so you understand Kyle's view there.  I liked that it wasn't an instant love, but they got to know each other.  Overall, it was a good book that I completely enjoyed.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

Award winning author Kimberly Rose Johnson married her college sweetheart and lives in the
Pacific Northwest. From a young child Kimberly has been an avid reader. That love of reading fostered a creative mind and led to her passion for writing. She especially loves romance and writes romantic suspense and mystery with a heart.

Kimberly holds a degree in Behavioral Science from Northwest University in Kirkland, Washington, and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers.

You can sign up for Kimberly’s newsletter via her website at: https://kimberlyrjohnson.com/

 

More from Kimberly

Dark Threat features FBI agent Kyle Richards. We first met Kyle in book one of the Protection Inc. series where he joined the team while working undercover for the FBI. He has since become an honorary member of the team and has been in every book since.

 

When I set out to write this series I planned to only feature the team members, but Kyle is practically part of the team, so he needed his own story too. I thoroughly enjoyed getting into Kyle’s head for this book.

 

As with most books, this one took research. Through the years I’ve done all kinds of research to understand the occupations of my characters. For the characters occupations in Dark Threat I did some different kind of research than I’ve done in the past.

 

I really wanted to understand how FBI agents think and operate so I listened to an audio book written by a former agent. The man was rough around the edges but it really helped me understand the atmosphere in which agents work. Then I read a book written by a female, former CIA as well as FBI agent. It was fascinating to see the differences between the agencies from a former agent’s point of view.

 

Trinity, the female lead in Dark Threat is a crime beat reporter. I pretty much knew nothing about the life of a television reporter, so I watched You Tube videos filmed by actual reporters about a day in their lives as reporters. One young woman did a series of videos, which I found extremely helpful. Another had the camera following her on the job. From her I learned about what it’s like to go out on location and how meal times during her day on the job were never guaranteed. She’d grab a bite when she could and sometimes she wouldn’t even be able to finish it because she had to rush to a breaking story.

 

Finally, I needed to better understand the art world. I have a college friend who is an amazing artist. She has a gallery in Boise, Idaho. I contacted her and picked her brain about art and art galleries.

 

As for anything related to law enforcement I asked my uncle who is a retired police officer.

 

The thing I loved most about talking to people about their professions is that one question often snowballed into a deeper conversation about the topic. My friend and my uncle would tell me things I didn’t even know I needed to know.

 

I think Dark Threat required the most research of all the books I’ve written. I’m not a huge fan of doing research, but I truly enjoyed every minutes of it for this book.

 

I hope you will enjoy reading Dark Threat even more than I enjoyed writing it!

Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, June 12

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 12

Texas Book-aholic, June 13

Blogging With Carol, June 13

Inklings and notions, June 14

Blossoms and Blessings, June 14

For Him and My Family, June 15

Bizwings Blog, June 15

deb’s Book Review, June 16

The Sacred Line, June 16

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 17

CarpeDiem, June 17

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, June 18

Betti Mace, June 18

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, June 19

Bigreadersite, June 19

Mypreciousbitsandmusings, June 20

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 20

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, June 21

Daysong Reflections, June 21

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, June 22

HookMeInABook, June 22

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 23

Kayem Reads , June 23

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, June 24

Worthy2Read, June 24

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, June 25 (Author Interview)

Mary Hake, June 25

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kimberly is giving away the grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10d55/dark-threat-celebration-tour-giveaway

Saturday, June 19, 2021

Emelie-A Journey & My Journey, Companion Journal by Kathy J. Perry

 


About the Book

Book:  Emeline – A Journey with the My Journey companion Journal

Author: Kathy J. Perry

Genre: Christian Historical Fiction Adventure

Release date: November 1, 2020

Emeline:

I can’t ask Pa; I must decide for myself.

What do I really want?

Set in 1890, a period of no phones or refrigerators, thirteen-year-old Emeline has lost both parents and must travel through ten states to reconnect with family in Boston.

On the way, she encounters many people and trials. Some characters are unsavory, ruthless, and violet, wanting only her money and possessions, caring nothing for her life. But all is not bleak: good folks make her trip memorable, giving her help as they are able.

Will she make it, and if she does, will she stay?

Will the events of her journey redefine her life?

This Christian historical fiction adventure will educate, entertain, and inspire young readers.

My Journey:

You Are Unique

What do you believe?

What motivates you?

What are your thoughts, hopes, and dreams?

Find a quiet place and contemplate the questions inside. Journaling is a great way to understand yourself and work through emotions.

Who knows? You might surprise yourself!

 My Thoughts:

I think this is a good one.  To start off with, you have to remind yourself how different things were in the 1890s.  I know there is no way I would allow my 13 year old or any of his friends to travel like Emeline did in this story,  but back then that age was much more mature.  It was a fairly quick read for me and I enjoyed it.

The author did a good job with showing how Emeline was studying her Bible and growing in her faith.  That was probably my favorite part of the whole thing.  The companion journal is great.  I think it would be great to give the set to young girls (I don't see any of the boys I know doing journaling voluntarily) and let them dream and grow with it.  Overall, I was very impressed with the author's work.

4/5

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book via Celebrate Lit.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author

After the passing of my parents, I evaluated at what I was doing with my life and my
contribution to others. I’ve always had a heart for teaching kids. I’ve been a classroom teacher, a homeschool mom, a tutor, and a substitute for many years. I’ve written, illustrated, and published the Bandana Acres series of Early Reader Chapter Books with solid moral lessons that fill a genre gap between picture and chapter books. Fellow teachers say, “Great! Keep it up. We need more of these.”

As a twelve-year-old, I identified with a fictional orphaned girl and was so impressed with her cleverness and honesty that I wanted to be like her. It was this story that inspired me to write Emeline – A Journey — a story that will educate, encourage, and inspire your tween or teen to find their way as a confident young adult.

A companion book, a consumable guided journal entitled My Journey, will challenge your young adult to important questions and give them lots of room to process their thoughts, hopes, and dreams.

 

More from Kathy

Research for Emeline’s story gave me such joy. It amazed me how much I learned about life in 1890 from internet searches, YouTube videos, and library books. Some topics, however, were more difficult than others. I purchased a book about 1800s printing for lithography details. I later gifted this beautiful book to my printer brother-in-law.

 

With new technology bursting at the seams of the fabric of our lives, could your young adult have an interest in such a time as 1890? Fantasies and futuristic books claim attention and provide an escape from our time and place. But the 1890s was a fascinating time, too, with inventions that would change how we live forever — inventions that we take for granted today. Regardless of the external factors, people then had the same personal issues. People remain people, no matter when or where they live.

 

I hope that from reading or listening to this book, your tweens and teens will internalize the important character qualities vital for confident, successful adulthood. The companion book, My Journey, follows the same values shown in Emeline’s book and provides a place for personal evaluation and self-discovery.

Blog Stops

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, June 7

Labor Not in Vain, June 7

Inklings and notions, June 8

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, June 9

Connie’s History Classroom, June 10

Library Lady’s Kid lit, June 10

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, June 11

Texas Book-aholic, June 12

For Him and My Family, June 13

Mary Hake, June 13

Locks, Hooks and Books, June 14

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, June 15

Lots of Helpers, June 16

deb’s Book Review, June 17

She Lives To Read, June 18

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, June 19

Splashes of Joy, June 20

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Kathy is giving away the grand prize of a hardcover copy of Emeline, a softcover copy of The Journey, and a $25 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10d09/emeline-a-journey-and-my-journey-celebration-tour-giveaway